August 2012

And the Winners Are... NAHA 2012 Winners Announced

NAHA 2010 Winners The North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), a Professional Beauty Association (PBA) event and the most prestigious photographic hairstyling competition in North America, is pleased to announce the winners of NAHA 2012.

and the winners are...

1. Master Stylist of the Year | Edwin Johnson - Nanaimo, BC, Canada
2. Hairstylist of the Year | Dimitrios Tsioumas - New York, NY
3. Newcomer Stylist of the Year | Sal Misseri - Chicago, IL
4. Salon Team of the Year | Lunatic Fringe Salon - Salt Lake City, UT
5. Editorial Stylist of the Year | Neeko Abriol - Pasadena, CA
6. Student Hairstylist | Cassandra Monteyro - West Chester, OH
7. Make-Up Artist of the Year | Jeanne San Diego - Upland, CA
8. Avant Garde | Nicholas French - West Hampton, NY
9. Contemporary Classic | Dimitrios Tsioumas - New York, NY
10. Haircolor | Chad Demchuk - Drexel Hill, PA
11. Texture | Jasmine Gibbs - Brooklyn, NY
12. Salon Design | Square Colour Salon + Spa - Las Vegas, NV
13. Salon MBA | Gila Rut Salons - San Diego, CA
14. People's Choice Award: Newcomer Stylist of the Year |
Nick Hemsley - Salt Lake City, UT

The winners were recognized July 22, 2012 during a star-studded ceremony held at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. More than 3,000 beauty professionals attended, along with more than 35,000 viewers from across the globe who tuned in to watch the live steaming broadcast on, to celebrate the honorees in NAHA's 13 distinct categories.

NAHA's top honor, Hairstylist of the Year, was presented to Dimitrios Tsioumas, from the Mizu New York Salon in New York, NY. Tsioumas, who also took home the 2012 Contemporary Classic NAHA, has won multiple NAHA honors over the years.

This year marked 23 years of the NAHA Awards Ceremony. The event featured five artistic presentations from, NAHA 2011 Hairstylist of the Year Eli Mancha, artists representing the Proctor & Gamble Salon Professional Brands, Cloud Nine Hair USA and Aveda. A tribute to Vidal Sassoon was also included to honor the work and legacy of the man who did so much to advance the art and profession of hairstyling.

In addition, Great Clips presented a $100,000 check and a commitment to PBA's CUT IT OUT program, which raises awareness through salons, spas, and beauty professionals to end domestic violence.

Entertainment journalist and host of E! Network's E! News and Fashion Police, Giuliana Rancic, was presented with the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award for her work with charitable organizations Bright Pink, Operation Smile, Dress for Success, Mercy Home for Boys & Girls in Chicago and the Children's Miracle Networks. Rancic also hosted the 2012 NAHA Awards Ceremony.

NAHA is introducing a new category for 2013. The "Men's Hairstylist of the Year" must master current men's commercial, contemporary and wearable styling trends. This award will honor a stylist who displays the most proficiency in the designs and techniques used in men's styling and grooming.

NAHA is also changing the nomination rules for the Make-Up Artist of the Year award. For the first time, applicants can submit their own entries without being nominated by a hairstylist. This will open up the category and encourage make-up artists not affiliated with a stylist or salon to showcase their work.

Applications for NAHA 2013 are available at

Untitled Document Untitled Document Untitled Document