August 2011

And the Winners Are... NAHA 2011 Winners Announced

NAHA 2010 Winners The Professional Beauty Association (PBA), presenter of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), the most prestigious hairstyling competition in North America, announces the winners of NAHA 2011.

1. Hairstylist of the Year | Eli Mancha - Chicago, IL
2. Master Stylist | Kris Sorbie - New York, NY
3. Salon Team | Jackson Ruiz Salon - Austin, TX
4. Editorial Stylist | Dimitrios Tsioumas - New York, NY
5. Student | Giovanna Simington - Huntington Beach, CA
6. Texture | Carlos Cintron - Lewisville, TX
7. Make-Up Artist | Clarissa Luna - Austin, TX
8. Avant Garde | Jake Thompson - Salt Lake City, UT
9. Contemporary Classic | Simon Chercuitte - Montreal, QB
10. Fashion Forward | Zahir Ziani - New York, NY
11. Haircolor | Dimitrios Tsioumas - New York, NY
12. Salon Design | Salon M Squared - Toronto, ON
13. Salon MBA | Karie & Aaron Bennett - Atelier, San Jose, CA

The winners were recognized July 31, 2011 during a star-studded ceremony held at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. More than 3,000 beauty professionals attended, along with more than 35,000 viewers from across the globe who tuned in to watch the live streaming broadcast on, to see who would be honored in NAHA's 13 distinct categories. NAHA's top honor, Hairstylist of the Year, was presented to Eli Mancha of the Lock & Loaded Salon in Chicago, IL.

2011 marked 22 years of the NAHA Awards Ceremony. The event featured artistic presentations from NAHA 2011 finalists, NAHA 2010 Hairstylist of the Year, Tony Ricci, and the Proctor & Gamble professional brands.

2011 honorees included Stan Klet, Sr., who was inducted into the Hall of Leaders, and Michael O'Rourke as the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement award. Actress, model, author, Las Vegas headliner and star of Planet Hollywood's PEEPSHOW and Holly's World on E!, Holly Madison, was presented with the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award for her work as an animal rights advocate.

The NAHA competition and Awards Ceremony is always evolving with a new category for 2012. The "Newcomer Stylist of the Year" will highlight the inspiring work of artists just starting out on their professional journey. The Fashion Forward category, which is being retired in 2011, had a great run and can now be reflected in other categories.

NAHA sets the standard for stylist achievement. Are you ready to see yourself at NAHA 2012? Applications are available for download at

Untitled Document Untitled Document Untitled Document