August 2008

NAHA 19 Break Into Fame Winners Announced

NAHA 19 Winners

1. MASTER STYLIST OF THE YEAR | Alain Pereque - Montreal, QB
2. AVANT GARDE | Nicholas French - New York, NY
3. HAIRSTYLIST OF THE YEAR | Charlie Price - Denver, CO
4. SALON TEAM OF THE YEAR | Capello Salon - Milwaukie, OR
5. MAKE-UP ARTIST OF THE YEAR | Janell Geason - Eden Prairie, MN
6. CONTEMPORARY CLASSIC | Maureen Anlauf - St. Paul, MN
7. FASHION FORWARD | Maureen Anlauf - St. Paul, MN
8. HAIRCOLOR | John Simpson - McDonald, PA
9. STUDENT HAIRSTYLIST OF THE YEAR | Chelsea Vittorio - Indianapolis, IN
10. TEXTURE | Shirley Gordon - Weaton, MD
11. SALON DESIGN | Osgood-O’Neil Salon - Dallas, TX
12. EDITORIAL STYLIST OF THE YEAR | John Donato - Toronto, ON

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA), presenter of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), the most prestigious hairstyling competition in North America, announces the winners of NAHA 19. Recognized Sunday, July 13, 2008 at the awards ceremony at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, these extraordinary stylists showcase the talent and creativity of the professional beauty industry in North America.

The NAHA 19 Awards Ceremony was hosted by celebrity host Victoria Jackson, former cast member of Saturday Night Live.  The evening focused on women in the industry who have displayed innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship in their work and life.  The award ceremony featured innovative artistic presentations by Veronica Bessey, NAHA 2007 Fashion Forward Winner (sponsored in part by TIGI) and Heather Wenman, NAHA 2006 Master Stylist of the Year.  This year’s honorees included Jack Storey, Hall of Leaders inductee and Martin Parsons recieved the Lifetime Achievement Award, adding to the excitement of the event.

NAHA sets the standard for stylist achievement.  A list of past winners serves as a ‘who’s who’ of influential beauty makers in North America.  Ready to honor the work of stylists and tell your own story at NAHA 20?  Applications are already available for download at or enter online.  Entries must be postmarked by February 2, 2009. 

NAHA is held in conjunction with Cosmoprof North America, the business-to-business beauty event in North America.  For more information, please visit